Why I Joined The #edugood Project

I have never been a fan of making New Year’s resolutions. But, this year, I have signed up for Krissy Venosdale’s #edugood project. She is a part of my Twitter PLN and a constant source of inspiration, encouragement, and support. A few days ago, she launched the #edugood project, which asks educators to post one picture per day of something good that happened to them on that day.

On her blog, Krissy argues that if we manage to document the good things that are happening in our schools, it will be easier for all of us to view education as something worthwhile and beautiful. Especially in these times, when so much education-related news seems to be negative, this project, in whatever small or large way, could help steer the conversation away from the negative towards the positive.

Although I try to be as positive as I can, I know that on occasion, I too am guilty of focusing too much attention on the negative. However, this year I am hoping that I can take five or ten minutes every day to record the good things that actually do happen all around me every day. I firmly believe that this small act of reflection can make a difference, not only for me, but for others as well. Sharing our positive moments with each other should help construct a more positive discourse surrounding education, and the more people that participate, the more powerful this discourse will be.

Normally, I would not participate in a project like this. I am a very private person (I do not even own a Facebook account!), and the thought of sharing 365 pictures of my life with other educators would usually scare me senseless. To be sure, I am still scared, but because I believe in the power of this project, I am willing to push myself outside my comfort zone. In addition, I ask my students to stretch themselves on an almost daily basis, so it only seems fair that I should ask the same of myself. The longer I teach, the more convinced I become that to develop as an educator, I have to constantly challenge myself to try new things. Old news, I know, but something that I will continue to remind myself of during this upcoming year.

I am excited and curious to see what 2013 holds for the #edugood project. I know that I am determined to do my best to make it a success, and I know that if I can muster up the courage to join, there is no reason why you cannot do it as well. So: I am in–are you?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why I Joined The #edugood Project

  1. Pontus,
    How fun is that? I am in too, and I’m looking forward to meeting new friends. I started taking a picture a day last January 1, and I just can’t look back. The relationships I have developed with other educators are deepening and meaningful, as a result.

    Krissy is such an inspiration to me too. I am excited to look for the good in education. Here is my first picture about my reading challenge goal: http://testblogscs.edublogs.org/2013/01/01/new-year-new-plans/

    Thanks,
    Denise

    • Denise,

      Thank you so much for your comment and I am excited to hear that you are part of this project as well! I loved your first picture, and I am curious to see how your reading challenge goes. Most importantly, I look forward to exchanging ideas with you during this upcoming year!

      Pontus

  2. Pontus, AllI can say is THANK YOU. Your words are so kind and your comments are greatly appreciated. I’m so glad you are joining in. I can’t wait to see how this year unfolds for us all.
    Thanks so very much for being a part of my PLN!
    Krissy

Leave a Reply

