How #Nerdlution Has Already Changed My Teaching

I owe a big thank you to the people starting the #Nerdlution movement. I dabbled with this blog last year, but never really got it off the ground, and though there is no guarantee I will sustain this momentum, the #Nerdlution promise I made to write for 50 consecutive days is already paying dividends. I am by nature a reflective person, and I enjoy spending time alone thinking about large and small issues. However, what I have started to realize (and this is not a newsflash) is that when you add the written component to your reflection, you add a tremendously important layer. Already after a few days of blogging, I feel invigorated, energized, and excited.

Throughout the school day, I find myself longing for that moment at night when I can sit down and write about whatever is on my mind. The simple act of writing things down does make a difference. Mine is not a blog that will ever have thousands of visitors, but the simple act of publishing these blog posts makes me a better and more thoughtful teacher.

Of course, none of this is news. You can find thousands of blogposts extolling the virtue of written reflection. However, what I am coming to realize is just how profoundly the act of writing changes my teaching. I spend more time during the day thinking about what to write, and that in itself means that I am reflecting on my role in the classroom, which will help both me and my students.

So, if you happen to read this and you are not a blogging teacher, please listen to me. All those blog post about how good blogging is for you and your teaching really have some truth to them. Try it. You will not be sorry.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How #Nerdlution Has Already Changed My Teaching

  1. I shared this line because it is so important: “… what I am coming to realize is just how profoundly the act of writing changes my teaching.” I’m glad you found your way back to the blog (sounds like a television show, doesn’t it? Back to the Blog.) I agree about writing and reflecting and growth. Keep at it, my friend.
    Kevin

Leave a Reply

