It Is Time To Change The Discourse

It is no secret that the teaching profession is a difficult one. It has never been easy, but it seems as if today’s environment makes it even more challenging than ever before. Limited resources, pressure to achieve certain test scores, the challenge of dealing with students who suffer through unspeakable things at home–the list is almost endless.

I am fortunate enough that I do not have to deal with many of these problems. I teach in an independent school, and though that carries its own set of challenges, I do not have to face the pressure of standardized tests, and most of my students come from stable homes.

I guess the point of this blog post is to express my support and admiration for all the teachers out there who do have to grapple with these issues. I am not pretending to know what you are dealing with, but you should know that I cheer you on every moment I can. One of the reasons why I like Twitter so much is that it offers teachers an opportunity to support each other, and to make us all feel like what we are doing is important. There is enough negativity out there surrounding the teaching profession, and I think that Twitter is a first step towards changing that discourse.

So, if you happen to read this and you are a teacher, please know how much I appreciate what you are doing. Moreover, take the time to let somebody else know that ours is one of the most important professions on the planet. Without passionate, hard-working and dedicated teachers, the world as we know it would fall apart. To borrow Angela Maiers’ mantra, it is time for us to let society know that We Matter. And, nobody will do this for us. We need to speak up ourselves, and we need to spread the good news coming out of our schools. I promise to work as hard as I can to create a positive atmosphere surrounding teachers and education. Will you join me?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

