The Beauty of Early Mornings

I have always liked early mornings. The time before the rest of the world around me has fully woken up is the time when I feel most at home and most at peace. Not surprisingly, early mornings is also the time when I seem to be the most productive, when I have the best ideas, and when I am able to view a problem with the most clarity.

During the 90s and early aughts I spent ten summers in Germany, playing tennis and working as a tennis professional. During one of those summers, I watched an interview with a German composer (I have forgotten his name) who said that the reason why he does his work in the morning is that the world seems bigger then. More full of promise. His words has stayed with me as they perfectly illustrate what I have always felt.

I still like early mornings. I get to school early, before most of the students, faculty, and staff have arrived. I love the sense of having a few minutes of peace before the rush of people fills the hallways and classrooms. And, these few moments of quiet and solitude make it even easier to love and appreciate the energy and enthusiasm of my students as they enter the classroom. Having spent an hour or so working in peace, I long for the arrival of my colleagues and my students. The early mornings get me centered and ready for work, but after that, it is the passion, joy, and drive of students, staff, and teachers that keep me going for the rest of the day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Beauty of Early Mornings

  1. jarhartz says:

    I love early mornings too. The quiet. Thank your for the “the world seems bigger then. More full of promise” idea. That will stick withe me. Happy #nerdlution.

    • Thank you for taking the time for offering a comment, and I am happy that you liked the phrase from the German composer. I can remember when I heard it–it was a true “Aha” moment as I realized that this is how I feel about early mornings.

Leave a Reply

