Balance

As so many other people did on Twitter today, I tweeted what will be my “One Word” for 2014. I actually had quite a few to choose from, but eventually settled on “Balance.”

I have always struggled with balance. I tend to immerse myself a little too much in whatever is at hand, whether that be my classes, coaching, exercising, tweeting, or something else. Too often in the past, I have found myself neglecting other important aspects of my life because I have become too invested in one thing. Of course, there are some benefits with putting a great deal of energy into what you do, but I tend to go overboard, which is why I will make a conscious effort this year to find balance in my life. A better balance between work, fun, family, friends, and hobbies will hopefully make me a better teacher, coach, husband, uncle, son, and person.

So, as the year progresses I will strive to identify when I am at risk of losing that balance. I will make the best effort possible to stay present, level-headed, and conscious of all that life has to offer. It will not be easy, but I am willing to give it my best try.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Balance

  1. Balance is a great word for the year. I hear much of my own thinking in your words, too.
    Take care
    Kevin

  2. Kevn,

    Thanks for your comment and I hope that your new year has started well!

Leave a Reply

