The Last Evening of Winter Break

So, here we are. Last evening of winter break, and I just put the finishing touches on my lesson plans for tomorrow. The last day of a longer break is always an interesting day. Equal parts sadness, anxiety, and excitement fill me as I gear up for a new semester.

Although I am of course a little sad that the break is over, I am grateful for the fact that I have a stimulating, fascinating, demanding, and exciting classroom to return to tomorrow. I am well aware of how fortunate I am to work in a school filled with wonderful students, interesting colleagues, and encouraging administrators. To be sure, not every day is perfect, and not everything goes the way I would want it to, but overall, I am so happy to be working in the school that I call mine. 

So, on this the last evening of winter break, I look back at two great weeks filled with fun, good times with family and friends, a little bit of learning, and I know that I am ready to go back. Ready to see my students again. Ready to try new things. Ready to be challenged. Ready to fall flat on my face a few times. Ready to find out what 2014 has to offer. Here is to hoping that this will be a great year.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Last Evening of Winter Break

  1. I agree-I love the time home but am ready to go back. An extra snow day or two isn’t bad as I still have a stack of unread books. But I always like winter in the classroom. Have a great start to your new semester!

  2. What are the new things you’ll be trying? Hope all goes well. Do you have school tomorrow? We have a snow day…

  3. Do you have school tomorrow? We have a snow day. What new things will you be trying?

Leave a Reply

